No Pulitzer for Fiction this Year

The Pulitzer board declined to award a fiction prize this year as they could not come to a majority in choosing among the three nominated titles:

Train Dreams by Denis Johnson

Swamplandia! by Karen Russell

The Pale King by the late David Foster Wallace

Which would you have chosen?  What should have been nominated that wasn’t?

Pulitzer Prizes were awarded to

The late Manning Marable for Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention in History

John Lewis Gaddis for George F. Kennan: An American Life in Biography and

Stephen Greenblatt for The Swerve: How the World Became Modern in Non-Fiction

Explore posts in the same categories: News

One Comment on “No Pulitzer for Fiction this Year”

  1. Alison Hunt Says:

    Thanks for highlighting a great public discussion!

    The lack of a fiction Pulitzer award really hit a nerve for authors and publishers feeling under siege from new business models, technology and reading behavior.

    Author Ann Patchett spoke for many when she wrote, “The Pulitzer Prize is our best chance as writers and readers and booksellers to celebrate fiction. This was the year we all lost.”

    Author Oscar Hijuelos, a former judge and 1990 fiction Pulitzer winner, tried to explain the unexpected outcome.

    I’m really hoping that Patchett is not right. That people will be curious about the finalists and read for themselves.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: